I was arrested for DUI, now what?
In an instant, your life just changed. You were out with family and friends celebrating and enjoying yourself and suddenly you are in handcuffs, sitting in the back seat of a police car while your car gets towed. You are now a criminal defendant, and at that instant, it doesn’t matter what you were celebrating or that you were having a great time with family and friends, you have been left in a state of shock as that jail cell door slams behind you.
Driving Under the Influence (DUI) is a serious criminal offense that not only carries a strong social stigma but is also aggressively prosecuted by the State Attorney’s Office. That being said, DUI is the one crime most likely to affect our family, friends, professionals and those who have never even been arrested. Most people arrested for DUI are not criminals but honest, educated and hard-working people.
Be proactive and educate yourself before you speak to ANY lawyer about your DUI, read my FREE consumer guide: “It’s Not Just A Traffic Ticket: A Six-Pack of Questions That Can Cause a Hangover after a DUI Arrest”. This FREE book provides information on how to hire a DUI lawyer in Florida and answers a six pack of questions that cause a hangover after a DUI arrest. BE CAREFUL: this valuable FREE information is not popular among lazy DUI lawyers looking to take your hard-earned money and simply plea you guilty.
Request a license hearing immediately! You only have 10 days from the date of arrest.
Once you are arrested on the suspicion of drunk driving your license will be taken and the arresting officer will issue a temporary, 10-day license. From that point, you have 10 days to request a hearing with the DMV to fight the suspension of your license. A recent change in the Florida Administrative Suspension law allows you to waive your formal review hearing and instead request eligibility review in order to obtain a business purposes (restricted) license.
Call me to discuss your options and schedule a consultation, (305)707-7345. Time is ticking and you cannot afford to stand still. Let me help you. Call to find out how.
Florida’s DUI laws are among the toughest in the country. If you are arrested for DUI and provide a breath test result that is over a .08, your license will be suspended for six months by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV or commonly referred to as simply DMV). If you refused to submit to a breath, blood or urine test, your license will be suspended for one year, or for 18 months if you previously refused to submit to a breath, blood or urine test and had your license suspended as a result (if this is your second or subsequent refusal you will also be charged in criminal court, in addition to your DUI, for refusing).
Speak with an experienced Miami DUI attorney immediately
Whether you’re thinking of requesting a formal review hearing or waiving your rights to one, it is imperative that you seek the advice and counsel of a skilled Miami DUI attorney. I can help you run through your options and goals so that you may make the best decision for your case. Remember, you have two problems, not just one. A formal accusation of DUI in criminal court is no laughing matter. Your liberty may be at stake! Get help before you do anything related to your administrative license suspension or your criminal charge of DUI.
Do You Need A Miami DUI Defense Laywer?
If you find yourself charged with DUI in Miami you need to speak with an experienced DUI attorney as soon as possible. Please contact me online or call my Coral Gables office directly at 305.707.7345. You should also download my free book "A Six Pack Of Questions That Can Cause A Hangover After A DUI Arrest". This free download provides valuable information and answers to questions about DUI charges that can give you the best chance at winning your case.