All sex offenders are required by law to register in the Florida sex offender registry database. Upon being released from prison, there is only a 48-hour window to register with the state as a sex offender. Failure to comply can lead to third-degree felony conviction, a $5,000 fine and five years in prison.
In some cases, you may have to register yearly. This simply entails adding any new information about your current address. The registration information needed to register is a recent photograph, fingerprints, employment information, driver’s license, physical descriptions (including tattoos), social security number and current address.
Repeat offenders who continuously fail to register or falsify their residence can face even steeper penalties. The second-degree felony charge fine jumps up to $10,000 and can be 15 years in prison.
In addition to registering for the database, there are check-ins that must be met. Sex offenders must register in person at their local sheriff’s office twice a year. Sexual predators and juvenile sex offenders must report four times a year. For offenders or predators who reside in a “temporary residence”, they must report monthly.
While there are few defenses for not registering, it is still possible to avoid jail time. You have the right to challenge the allegations against you if you have been charged with “failing to register as a sex offender.” Because this charge has such serious consequences, it is imperative to get a skilled criminal defense attorney that has experience with these types of cases.
Have You Failed to register as a Sex Offender in Florida ?
If you have been charged for failing to register as a Sex Offender, you need to contact an experienced criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. It is imperative to build a strong defense so that you can get the best possible outcome. Contact me online or call my Miami office directly at 305.707.7345.